Academic Senate Ad Hoc Workgroup Update on Faculty Self-Evaluations / 27 April 2023

Ad Hoc Workgroup Members: Smita Avasthi, Vince Bertsch, Tara Jacobson, Tara Johnson,

Monica Ohkubo, Scott Rosen, Hannah Skoonberg, and John Stover.

We met with the AFA Executive Committee in closed session on Wednesday, April 25th. AFA provided us with 20 minutes to consult, and we expressed our appreciation for this process and hopes for continued collaborations going forward. We also shared the highlights of the public Academic Senate discussion on Tuesday, April 24th as included these meta-themes:

- Suggestions that the survey tool used to gather faculty input on the topic be revisited and strengthened;
- Concerns regarding the lack of peer review and student participation, and;
- Best practices regarding evaluation and support for struggling faculty.

We asked a few clarifying questions within the closed session format and were thanked for our consult.